Pass.

A month flown into the fickle vagaries of time unreal.

I’m never “in the moment,” so I have very little to be anchored by. Everything is fleeting, even the lemon meringue pie I bought myself for the 41st marking of my natal day; I had no cake, and so I bought my own.

Bought myself books, a corset, toe socks. Everything I had and everyone with whom I spent that day were all I wanted. My favorite author made me cry with her tenderest regards. It was as close to ideal as I could possibly receive and wish for.

Save for my blood brother, the family I have ignores and continues to neglect me. The family I chose looked after me.

I will return the favors.

Leave a Reply

